Vacancy: District Commissioner (Northern Europe)

We have a fantastic, challenging and rewarding opportunity to join our Area Team.

Do you have the skills and drive to lead our Northern Europe District.

With full support and award winning training, you can volunteer on a flexible basis. Not only is it incredibly rewarding and great fun, you’ll learn some brilliant skills transferable to the workplace too. We welcome volunteers from every community and background. You don’t need to have been a Scout. You just need to believe in a more positive future and the difference we can make together.

Applications will be reviewed by the search group and shortlisted candidates will be invited for interview during WEEK COMMENCING 31st November 2021. These are likely to be held via video-conferencing. 

The search group consists of:

  • John Nordkvelle – Northern Europe District Chair (Search Team Chair) 
  • Nathan Prince – British Scouting Overseas Area Commissioner 
  • Bob Thorpe – District Commissioner Southern Europe 
  • Alastair Hannaford – Deputy District Youth Commissioner 
  • Lucy Hammond – District Explorer Scout Commissioner 
  • Rani Roloff – GSL Telstar (Luxembourg) 

To support the development of all our adult volunteers, unsuccessful candidates at interview will be offered feedback from a member of the search group and their current line manager will be informed of the application, so specific future development needs can be identified for the volunteer. If you do not wish for your line manager to be informed, please inform the search group at interview.

British Scouting Overseas is committed to increasing diversity, and maintaining an inclusive volunteering culture. We welcome applications from all qualified candidates regardless of their ethnicity, race, gender, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, age, marital status or whether or not they have a disability. We welcome all applications regardless of where you are located in the world. 

Further information

For an informal discussion about the role, please email John Nordkvelle (District Chair): or Nathan Prince (Area Commissioner): 

The deadline for applications is 21/11/2021.

Download application pack: [pdf] [word]